Sideways Self-Fringing Shawls with Sarah Schira
Sideways Self-Fringing Shawls with Sarah Schira
Sideways Self-Fringing Shawls with Sarah Schira
Sideways Self-Fringing Shawls with Sarah Schira
Sideways Self-Fringing Shawls with Sarah Schira
Sideways Self-Fringing Shawls with Sarah Schira
Sideways Self-Fringing Shawls with Sarah Schira
Sideways Self-Fringing Shawls with Sarah Schira

Sideways Self-Fringing Shawls with Sarah Schira

Vendor
Online Workshop
Regular price
$75.00 CAD
Sale price
$75.00 CAD
Shipping calculated at checkout.
20 left in stock
Quantity must be 1 or more

We love online learning. Especially when we're able to bring great instructors like Sarah Schira right to you. Using Zoom as our online videoconferencing platform, you can take this class from anywhere. 

Self-Fringing? Now that sounds cool!

What if you never had to measure and attach a fringe again? What if you could use up every scrap of yarn in a precious skein? Learn the basics of self-fringing edging and how to incorporate it into a side-to-side shawl.

In this class, Sarah will take us through a knitted mini shawl to practice all the techniques involved. She'll cover: increasing and decreasing, dropping the fringe, and methods to finish the fringe. Participants will receive a handout with mini shawl directions as well as a download code for their choice of the Prairie Hills Shawl or the Prairie Valley Shawl pattern, both of which use this technique.

This 3-hour, online workshop will take place on Saturday, September 28, starting at: 9:00 am PST, 10:00 am MST, 11:00 am CST, 12:00 pm EST, 1:00 pm AST, 1:30 pm in NL.

Please Bring:

  • 20-30 g worsted weight yarn. Yarn that is not ‘sticky’ is recommended: smooth, silky, drapey yarns
  • US 8 / 5 mm needles for working flat. We will not need long needles for this method. Straights or DPNs work.

Skill level: able to knit, purl, and work in the round with one of the following methods: DPNs, magic loop, or the 2 circs method.

Sarah Schira

Sarah loves gnomes. A lot. We invite you to join us and Sarah in #nevernotgnoming. Check out Sarah's Year of Gnomes and enter for fun, prizes and motivation: https://www.imaginedlandscapes.com/year-of-gnomes/

When Sarah isn't knitting gnomes, she's working on knitting patterns for everyday adventures. She loves to design accessories that look harder than they are, and that flatter you while you live your adventures. Sarah is also sharing her knowledge, advice, tips and techniques through our online learning program. 

Read these helpful tips before you register:

  • You have to pay the registration fee in advance to hold your seat. You can register online or call the store at 780-477-9276 to make a payment over the phone. 
  • Time Zones: the class times listed are Mountain Daylight Time (MDT). 
  • As this is an online class, you will need to have Zoom downloaded on a computer, tablet or mobile device. If using a computer, make sure you also have a webcam and microphone built in or attached.
  • The class session(s) will be recorded and copies of all/segments of the class will be available for you to review for a limited time after the class session(s).
  • Refunds? If you cancel 14 days (or more) prior to your workshop date, we will transfer your registration fee to a RCY gift card at no charge or offer a refund less a 10% cancellation fee. The cost of any materials provided to you will be subtracted from any refunds/transfers.
  • No refunds will be made if you have to cancel less than 14 days before your class is scheduled to begin. If minimum enrolment is not met we reserve the right to cancel the class. A full refund of your registration fee will be given should this situation arise.

Questions, comments, concerns, suggestions? Please contact cynthia@yarniversity.ca.