Fiberside Chats (Online Social Gathering)
Portrait of Woolly Wormhead. Featured speaker on an upcoming Fiberside Chat.
Fiberside Chats (Online Social Gathering)
Toni LIpsey is smiling, about to pick up a ball of colourful yarn. She has a crochet hook in her right hand and looks ready to share her love of crochet.
Downloadable social media post for Fiberside Chat with Toni LIpsey.
Portrait of Stephen West. Featured speaker on an upcoming Fiberside Chat.
Fiberside Chats (Online Social Gathering)
Candid shot of Marie Greene, holding her knitting. She will be the featured guest at the Fiberside Chat on June 19.
Fiberside Chats (Online Social Gathering)
A screenshot of purchasing a Fiberside Chat on Longmont Yarn Shoppe's website

Fiberside Chats (Online Social Gathering)

Vendor
Workshop
Regular price
$0.00 CAD
Sale price
$0.00 CAD
Shipping calculated at checkout.
90 left in stock
Quantity must be 1 or more

Live Online Chats with Engaging Creators

Fiberside Chats are one-hour online (Zoom) sessions with special guests, giving us a peek into their world. These designers and creators will discuss their unique path, creative processes, latest projects—or whatever is inspiring them now. There will also be a Q&A session, giveaways, and other fun surprises for those who join! The gatherings are organized and hosted by our friends at Longmont Yarn Shoppe. The registration fee for each chat is only $20 USD and the proceeds support the guests and participating yarn shops such as ours.

How to register: Join Barb, Cynthia and the River City Yarns group! Register on Longmont Yarn Shoppe's website and find River City Yarns in the drop down menu. Easy-peasy!


3 Classic Crochet Stitches Everyone Should Know with Toni Lipsey on Sunday, May 22nd at 12:00pm PDT, 1:00pm MDT, 2:00pm CDT, 3:00pm EDT, 4:00pm ADT and 4:30pm in NL. This session will be recorded.

Join designer & instructor Toni Lipsey of TL Yarn Crafts for this live demo to add 3 classic crochet stitches to your toolkit and explore variations that appeal to both knitters and crocheters! Mastering just a few basic stitches opens your maker world to thousands of project ideas and giftable pieces.

Toni will demonstrate each stitch, including row-by-row instructions, tips for incorporating colorwork, and how to use that stitch in a variety of patterns. You are encouraged to learn alongside Toni during the chat. A handout will be provided and all you need is 2-3 colors of worsted weight yarn and a 6mm crochet hook.

For more details, and to register, click here.


Modular Magic with Stephen West on Sunday, June 5th at 10:00 am PDT, 11:00 am MDT, 12:00 pm CDT, 1:00 pm EDT, 2:00 pm ADT. This session will be recorded.

Join Stephen as he shares all about modular knitting with this colorful presentation. Learn how Stephen chooses colors and constructs his modular designs like architectural puzzles. Ask questions and enjoy all of the westknits inspiration!

Stephen West’s prolific shawl designs and innovative use of color have made him an internationally recognized designer. Stephen was born and raised in Tulsa, Oklahoma; moved to Chicago, Illinois for school, and later moved to Amsterdam, Netherlands, to study choreography. Stephen's designs have been knitted by thousands of knitters all around the world. He currently lives in Amsterdam where he co-owns Stephen & Penelope, a yarn boutique in the city center. In 2019 Stephen and his business partner Malia Mae Joseph realized a long-held dream by launching their first yarn brand, West Wool.

For more details, and to register, click here.


All About Ease - 10 Expert Secrets for Getting the Right Sweater Fit with Marie Greene on Sunday, June 19th at 10:00 am PDT, 11:00 am MDT, 12:00 pm CDT, 1:00 pm EDT, 2:00 pm ADT. This session will be recorded.

Join designer & author Marie Greene for the inside scoop on sweater ease, choosing your size, and getting the fit you expect in your sweaters! Marie will share her top 10 secrets for sweater success in this delightful (and informative) chat.

Marie Greene is the founder of Olive Knits and Knit Camp, and the author of three (soon to be four!) books on knitting, including Seamless Knit Sweaters in 2 Weeks. Her renegade knitting tricks and cheerful teaching style have helped knitters around the world knit with confidence. You'll love her candid insights, brilliant tips and real-life stories that will not only teach and inspire you, but will keep you laughing along the way. Marie lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and two adorable (but aloof) kitties.

For more details, and to register, click here.


Read these helpful tips before you register:

  • You should sign up early to get a seat.
  • Registration fees must be paid in advance to hold your seat.
  • Registrations will close 3 hours before the event starting time.
  • You will receive an online invitation and meeting identification code that you will need, from Longmont Yarn Shoppe in order to enter the event. This invitation will come within 24 hours of the event.
  • As this is an online event, you need to have Zoom downloaded on a computer, tablet or mobile device. If using a computer, make sure you also have a webcam and microphone built in or attached.
  • Refunds? Sorry, there are no refunds if you forget to sign in or cannot attend.
  • Date Changes or Cancellations: in the event the Fiberside Chat has to be cancelled due the the Guest not being able to attend, Longmont Fibers will make the best effort possible to immediately accommodate a new date. All participant registrations will be valid for the new date. In the event an alternative date is not available your registration will be refunded in full. 
  • Questions? Send an email to info@rivercityyarns.com