Stranded Colourwork for Beginners with Barb & Cynthia
Stranded Colourwork for Beginners with Barb & Cynthia

Stranded Colourwork for Beginners with Barb & Cynthia

Vendor
Online Workshop
Regular price
$75.00 CAD
Sale price
$75.00 CAD
Shipping calculated at checkout.
20 left in stock
Quantity must be 1 or more

We love online learning. Especially when we're able to bring great classes like this one, right to you. Using Zoom as our online video conferencing platform, you can take this class from anywhere.

Floating along...

It’s not hard, once you know how! We’ll show you how to use two colours at the same time, to create lovely colourwork motifs in your knitting projects. We’ll begin with a sampler, knit in the round, and provide patterns for you to take what you’ve learned in class and make a cowl or a hat. It begins with a two colour cast cast on and corrugated ribbing. A few rounds later, we’ll review reading a chart in the round and working a pattern motif with both yarns in one hand or two, as you prefer. Along the way, we’ll work on tensioning the floats and “picking up” a longer float. We’ll finish off with a tubular bind off and answer questions about weaving in ends, blocking and fixing mistakes.

This online class takes place on Saturday, April 27 at 9:00 am PDT, 10:00 am MDT, 11:00 am CDT, 12:00 pm EDT, 1:00 pm ADT. This class is recorded in the event that you are unable to attend the live session.

This is a 3 hour class, with time provided for participants to work along on a small project. 

Please bring:

  • Yarn: a small amount (20g each) of a smooth, worsted weight yarn (wool or wool blend works best) in two - three contrasting colours.
  • Needles: 4.5 - 5.0 mm / US 7 - 8 knitting needles for working a small circumference in the round: DPNs, two circulars or a long circular as you prefer.
  • Notions: 6 stitch markers (1 of which is different from the rest), scissors and a tapestry needle for weaving in ends.

Skills required: participants should be comfortable knitting in the round on a small circumference using double pointed needles, two circulars or a long circular.

Read these helpful tips before you register:

  • You have to pay the registration fee in advance to hold your seat. You can register online or call Barb/Cynthia at 780-477-9276 (ext 5) to make a payment over the phone. 
  • As this is an online class, you will need to have Zoom downloaded on a computer, tablet or mobile device.
  • The class session(s) will be recorded and copies of all/segments of the class will be available for you to review for a limited time after the class session(s).
  • Refunds? If you cancel 14 days (or more) prior to your workshop date, we will transfer your registration fee to a RCY gift card at no charge or offer a refund less a 10% cancellation fee. The cost of any materials provided to you will be subtracted from any refunds/transfers.
  • No refunds will be made if you have to cancel less than 14 days before your class is scheduled to begin. If minimum enrolment is not met we reserve the right to cancel the class. A full refund of your registration fee will be given should this situation arise.

Questions, comments, concerns, suggestions? Please contact cynthia@yarniversity.ca.