Designer, Marie Greene, models her latest 4 Day KAL project, called "Sailaway".
4 Day KAL Logo featuring a sailboat with the name "Olive Knits" over the words, "4 Day KAL" and "Featured Vendor".
River City Yarns recommended yarn combo for Sailaway: 430 Marine Blue, 150 Camel and 100 Ivory.
River City Yarns recommended yarn combo for Sailaway: 910 Steel, 410 Morning Sky and 920 Charcoal.
River City Yarns recommended yarn combo for Sailaway: 600 Forest, 630 Grasslands and 700 Harvest.
River City Yarns recommended yarn combo for Sailaway: 400 Navy, 300 Snow and 500 Royal Red.
A close up image of Sailaway made in RCY Epic combo Marine Blue as the main colour, Camel and Ivory as contrast colours 1 and 2.
Olive Knits 4 Day KAL logo with an anchor and the words: "Olive Knits 4 Day KAL" and "Got Yarn? We do!"

Sailaway 4 Day Knit-A-Long

Vendor
River City Yarns
Regular price
$0.00 CAD
Sale price
$0.00 CAD
Shipping calculated at checkout.
22 left in stock
Quantity must be 1 or more

Get ready to Sailaway with Barb, Cynthia and Marie Greene from Olive Knits for the 6th annual 4 Day KAL. 

Seven years ago Marie Green challenged herself to knit a sweater over a long weekend. The 4th of July weekend, in fact. She shared her personal goal with her knitting community, and with the energy of holding herself accountable to an audience, she did it! Now, the 6th Annual 4 Day Knit-A-Long (KAL) hosted by Marie Greene of Olive Knits begins on July 1, 2022, and we couldn't be more excited! This year's pattern is named "Sailaway" and features a series of slipped stitches paired with fun 1-over-1 cables.

Super easy to knit, this seamless cardigan is worked top-down with suggested yarns in either DK or Worsted weights. Skill Level: Intermediate.

We’ll be knitting "Sailaway" out of our in-house brand Epic Yarn. We've been working on our test knit and love how Epic is knitting up.  This 100% Peruvian Wool is soft and bouncy, perfect for colourwork and we couldn't be happier with the results. Want to meet Marie Greene "in person"? She's the featured guest at Fiberside Chats on Sunday, June 19. Link to the details: https://www.longmontyarn.com/shop/Fiberside-Chats/p/Fiberside-Chats-Marie-Greene-June-19-2022-x63168223.htm

If you'd like to join us for our KAL, here are the details:

  • Thursday May 26th - Pattern pre-order with swatching details goes on sale on OliveKnits.com and Ravelry. (You'll need to purchase the pattern to participate).
  • Get your yarn! Marie recommends DK or Worsted Weight wools. We are using our beloved RCY Epic (100% wool) and got our blocked gauge (20 stitches and 29 rows in 4 in/10 cm in color/texture pattern) with a 4.5mm (US Size 7) needle. (You'll need yarn to make your sweater... you can use any yarn you like; we're kind of partial to Epic).
  • Thursday, June 16 - join Barb and Cynthia at River City Yarns for a Swatching party. Join us as we answer swatching questions and help with yarn amount estimations. This online event will begin at 4:00 pm PDT, 5:00 pm MDT, 6:00 pm CDT, 7:00 pm EDT, 8:00 pm ADT.
  • Friday, July 1 - Pattern & knitalong soundtrack playlist lands in your pattern library on OliveKnits.com or Ravelry (the pattern will automatically update in your library, so just check your account first thing in the morning to see the pattern update and the upbeat playlist to inspire your knitalong). Olive knits Cast-On Party livestream happens (details will be provided in the pre-order packet)
  • Saturday July 2nd - join Barb and Cynthia at River City Yarns for a Cast on party. Join us to talk about about planning out your time, casting on, etc. This online event will begin at 1:00 pm PDT, 2:00 pm MDT, 3:00 pm CDT, 4:00 pm EDT, 5:00 pm ADT.
  • Saturday, July 30 - Barb and Cynthia will host a check-in and show & tell event. This online event will include prizes, so be sure to come out. This online event will begin at 1:00 pm PDT, 2:00 pm MDT, 3:00 pm CDT, 4:00 pm EDT, 5:00 pm ADT.

Pick Your Size:

Sizes: 1 (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9)  –  The amount of ease will depend on your measurements and the size you choose (based on finished measurements). For help choosing a size, please visit Marie's blog post.

  • Bust: 34.3 (39.5, 43.5, 48.7, 51.5, 56.3, 62.3, 65.1, 68.3) in/ 85.81 (98.81, 108.81, 121.81, 128.81, 140.81, 155.81, 162.81, 170.81) cm
  • Sleeve: 11.6 (13.8, 14.8, 16.4, 16.8, 17.4, 18, 19, 19) in/29 (34.5, 37, 41, 42, 43.5, 45, 47.5, 47.5) cm
  • Top of Shoulder to Underarm: 9.93 (9.93, 10.21, 10.21, 10.79, 11.36, 11.93, 12.79, 13.36) in/ 24.82
    (24.82, 25.54, 25.54, 26.96, 28.39, 29.82, 31.96, 33.39) cm

Yarn Requirements - Worsted Weight or DK

These estimates translate nicely for both DK and worsted weight, but may vary slightly according to your yarn selection. Yardage includes enough for swatching!

  • MC: 900 (1000, 1100, 1210, 1331, 1464, 1611, 1772, 1949) yards/823 (914, 1005, 1106, 1217, 1338, 1472, 1619, 1781) meters.  Epic Yarn requirements for MC are: 5 (6, 6, 7, 7, 8, 9, 9, 10) balls
  • CC1: 82 (90, 100, 110, 121, 133, 146, 161, 177) yards/75 (82, 91, 101, 111, 122, 134, 147, 162) meters. Epic Yarn requirements - 1 ball for CC1
  • CC2: 78 (86, 95, 105, 115, 126, 139, 153, 168) yards/71 (79, 87, 96, 105, 116, 127, 140, 154) meters. Epic Yarn requirements - 1 ball for CC2 

Epic Colour Combos: Our Recommendations!

  1. Marine Blue 430 for (MC) with Camel 150 and Ivory 100 (for CC1 & CC2 - your choice)
  2. Navy 400 for (MC) and Snow 300Royal Red 500  (for CC1 & CC2 - your choice)
  3. Steel 910 for (MC) and Morning Sky Blue 410Charcoal 920 (for CC1 & CC2 - your choice)
  4. Forest Green 600 for (MC) and Grasslands 630Harvest Gold 700 (for CC1 & CC2 - your choice)