An image of a knitted piece with a tape measure and a schematic for a sweater. Join Kate Atherley as she explains how to create multiples sizes for your designes.
Kate Atherley is a well known Canadian designer who delivers excellent instructions on knitting, knitting techniques and technical editing.
An image of a knitted piece with a tape measure and a schematic for a sweater. Join Kate Atherley as she explains how to create multiples sizes for your designs.

New! Introduction to Grading with Kate Atherley

Vendor
Workshop
Regular price
$50.00 CAD
Sale price
$50.00 CAD
Shipping calculated at checkout.
20 left in stock
Quantity must be 1 or more

We love online learning. Especially when we're able to bring great instructors like Kate Atherley right to you. Using Zoom as our online videoconferencing platform, you can take this class from anywhere. 

Creating all the sizes!

Grading – creating all the sizes – is the most challenging task in preparing a pattern for publication. This session goes beyond customary tutorials about mathematical calculations and instead dives into the whats, the hows and the whys of grading. We’ll define the crucial elements of the task and discuss strategies for tackling them. Along the way, we’ll talk about resources for body sizing information, and discuss how to determine an appropriate size range for your design to make it marketable to a wider audience.

This 2-hour class will take place on Wednesday, January 18, starting at 3:30 pm PST, 4:30 pm MST, 5:30 pm CST, 6:30 pm EST, 7:30 pm AST.

Skill level: Experienced. You've knit a few garments and you may have even tackled designing your own garments "from scratch". You're interested in learning more about grading your designs for publication or modifying designs to create custom size options.

Kate Atherley

Kate Atherley has been teaching knitting professionally for more than 15 years at stores and events all over Canada, the U.S. and the U.K. Her latest book, Custom-Fit Hats is her ninth, and the fourth in a series on customizing projects for perfect fit and style; it joins works on shawls, socks, and mittens. Her focus in all her work is the empowerment of knitters, illuminating both the methods and mechanics of the craft. The combination of her university degree in mathematics, professional experience in software development and usability, and training in garment and fashion design give her a unique perspective. She also works as a technical editor, helping other designers and authors bring their work into the world. She lives in Toronto with her husband and the family of skunks under their porch.  www.kateatherley.com

Read these helpful tips before you register:

  • You have to pay the registration fee in advance to hold your seat. You can register online or call the store at 780-477-9276 to make a payment over the phone. 
  • Time Zones: the class times listed are Mountain Time (MT). 
  • As this is an online class, you will need to have Zoom downloaded on a computer, tablet or mobile device. If using a computer, make sure you also have a webcam and microphone built in or attached.
  • The class session(s) will be recorded and copies of all/segments of the class will be available for you to review for a limited time after the class session(s).
  • Refunds? If you cancel 14 days (or more) prior to your workshop date, we will transfer your registration fee to a RCY gift card at no charge or offer a refund less a 10% cancellation fee. The cost of any materials provided to you will be subtracted from any refunds/transfers.
  • No refunds will be made if you have to cancel less than 14 days before your class is scheduled to begin. If minimum enrolment is not met we reserve the right to cancel the class. A full refund of your registration fee will be given should this situation arise.

Questions, comments, concerns, suggestions? Please contact cynthia@rivercityyarns.com.