Learn a Little Lace with Barb & Cynthia
Learn a Little Lace with Barb & Cynthia
Learn a Little Lace with Barb & Cynthia
Learn a Little Lace with Barb & Cynthia
Learn a Little Lace with Barb & Cynthia

Learn a Little Lace with Barb & Cynthia

Vendor
Online Workshop
Regular price
$75.00 CAD
Sale price
$75.00 CAD
Shipping calculated at checkout.
20 left in stock
Quantity must be 1 or more

We love online learning. Especially when we're able to bring great classes like this one, right to you. Using Zoom as our online video conferencing platform, you can take this class from anywhere.

And you can put a bead on it, too.

Elegant and refined, our Queen Vicki's wristlets are a great beginner lace project. They’re also perfect for almost any season and like their namesake, we think you could wear them just as easily to tea in May or over gloves in November.

This class is designed for those who are new to lace knitting and want to learn more about the fundamentals of lace while making something pretty! You will learn how to read and knit from a chart while  getting lots of practice making eyelets (yarn overs), slanted stitches and vertical columns in this pretty lace pattern. We will also show you how to add beads to your wristlets (should you desire), and how to do a picot edge at the top of your wristlet before binding off. Our class will end with seaming using mattress stitch and a demo of our favourite way to weave in ends, so they stay put and hidden on the inside. 

This online class takes place on Saturday, May 11 at 9:00 am PDT, 10:00 am MDT, 11:00 am CDT, 12:00 pm EDT, 1:00 pm ADT. This class is recorded in the event that you are unable to attend the live session.

This is a 3 hour class, with time provided for participants to work along. The wristlet may not be finished in class but all of the required techniques will be covered and participants can revisit the handout to finish their project or complete their second wristlet. 

Please bring:

  • Yarn: approximately 100 metres of a smooth fingering or sport weight yarn. We recommend Merino wool or a Merino/Silk/Cashmere blend.
  • Needles: 3.0 - 3.5 mm / US 2.5 - 4 U straight needles (we recommend a smooth wood or highly polished metal needle. Avoid plastic needles.)
  • A tapestry needle (for seaming).
  • Optional: one small (10 to 20 gram vial) (or approx 100) size 6 Japanese or high quality crystal or glass beads that coordinate or contrast (as you wish) with your yarn. 

Skills required: Participants should be able to proficiently cast on, knit and purl and bind off.  There is no homework! A handout and pattern will be provided in advance of class.

Read these helpful tips before you register:

  • You have to pay the registration fee in advance to hold your seat. You can register online or call Barb/Cynthia at 780-477-9276 (ext 5) to make a payment over the phone. 
  • As this is an online class, you will need to have Zoom downloaded on a computer, tablet or mobile device.
  • The class session(s) will be recorded and copies of all/segments of the class will be available for you to review for a limited time after the class session(s).
  • Refunds? If you cancel 14 days (or more) prior to your workshop date, we will transfer your registration fee to a RCY gift card at no charge or offer a refund less a 10% cancellation fee. The cost of any materials provided to you will be subtracted from any refunds/transfers.
  • No refunds will be made if you have to cancel less than 14 days before your class is scheduled to begin. If minimum enrolment is not met we reserve the right to cancel the class. A full refund of your registration fee will be given should this situation arise.

Questions, comments, concerns, suggestions? Please contact cynthia@yarniversity.ca.